Vegan at Disneyland: Putting your willpower to the test

Just this past week I decided to take a 30 day vegan challenge. I have been a vegetarian for almost 3 years now. My reason for making the switch was to better my health and to stand up for animal rights. At the time, I had read Skinny Bitch and was shocked at some of the information in that book. Recently though, after losing my car, practicing yoga on a daily basis and living in California where health is a part of everyone’s life, I’ve decided to read up on veganism.

The public library has been a great resource and book I really enjoyed was The Kind Diet, by Alicia Silverstone. Yes, there are recipes in this book, but the first 135 pages are devoted to explaining how meat, dairy, GMOs and all that crap is affecting our bodies, the animals and the environment. It’s shocking – read it.

I promised myself to try being vegan for 30 days and then reevaluate what I am able and willing to sacrifice to live a cruelty-free life. My first week went great until I was faced with the biggest challenge of my life: Disneyland. As you enter the park, the aroma of freshly popped kettle corn awakens your taste buds and whispers “just have a little bite, it won’t hurt you.” Wrong Mr.Kettle Corn! I know you will have me addicted by the first bite. I must resist. And I did.

Bachelorette Party at Disneyland!

Throughout the day, my friends enjoyed ice cream, cookies, cheesy pizza, fried this and chocolate covered that…It was torture. However, I did a little research before entering and found that my favorite Vegetarian Gumbo in Sourdough bread bowl was indeed vegan! For dinner we went to Wine Country Trattoria in California Adventure and they went above and beyond to accommodate my vegan needs. The chef came out and went over the menu with me and totally hooked my up with a delicious vegan, veggie-filled pasta dish!

We thought we were pretty clever until we got completely soaked at the bottom!

The only issue I had was treats. I was craving chocolate and could not find anything that did not contain butter or milk. Next time I will have to bring my own! My willpower was definite put to the test and passed with flying colors.

P.S If you’re interested in environmental issues, animal rights, social and political debates going on these days check out Face Issues on Facebook. We’d love to hear your thoughts.

Categories: The little things in life | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Vegan at Disneyland: Putting your willpower to the test

  1. Lawrence J. Thomas

    Still love your Blog!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I am so happy to see that life is so great for you!

  2. I don’t understand why kettle corn is not vegan? I thought plant products were the basis of vegan?
    Love the Mickey Mouse bridal veil!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

