Gershwin and the Mountbatten-Windsor

As sad as I am that Prince William did not choose me to be part of his royal family, I am relieved that I did not have to change my name to Mountbatten-Windsor. Gabrielle Mountbatten-Windsor. Not sure how I feel about that.

I do look good in that carriage though

On another note, last night my friend Corina and I went to see a wonderful musical play at the Pasadena Playhouse. Gershwin Alone was a classic yet funny piece. We were indeed the youngest people in the crowd, but laughed just as hard as everyone else. You may be wondering how we ended up at this play in the first place. Well, my friends, it’s all thanks to my charm. Just kidding. Actually, at lululemon we have these complimentary classes every Sunday morning and I was working during 2 of them this past month. I was getting people to sign the waivers when an older gentleman (in his 80s I would say) named Doyle came to sign up! He was there for our bootcamp class and he stayed for the whole thing! I kept checking in on him to make sure he was doing ok and we had a good chat.

Later that week he came back in the store and wanted to see if I had any interest in plays or had ever been the the Pasadena Playhouse. As a matter of fact I loved plays but had never been to any around here. He is retired now but happened to still be involved with the Pasadena Playhouse and would like to offer me a set of tickets to the Gershwin Alone piece! I was so pleased but wasn’t sure why he wanted me to have them in the first place. He simply said: “You were just so nice and genuine during the fitness classes. I appreciated your help and it’s nice to see young people interested in plays these days. Since you have never been, I would like to give you the chance to go, bring whoever you want!”. Um WOW! So there I was with 2 orchestra level tickets to the greatly-reviewed Gershwin Alone.

The tiny theatre wasn’t completely full so we got bumped up even closer to the stage! What a treat šŸ™‚ Thank you Doyle!

The last 30-40 minutes of the play (which only has one actor in it) invites the audience to sing along to some of the Gershwin songs while the actor plays the piano for us. Anyways, the whole play will be aired on the radio starting this MONDAY all across the world. If you’re driving in the car start channel surfing to see if you could catch some of the songs!

We had quite a laugh last night as one man in the audience stood up to sing along. He had a very good voice and the actor asked him what he did for a living. The man answered: “I’m a singing mortician!”. The crowd went wild and laughed so hard!

Perfect end to my day off! Oh and I had spent the morning by the pool in Playa Vista followed by a trip to the South Pasadena Farmer’s Market. Great sunny day off!

Categories: The little things in life | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Gershwin and the Mountbatten-Windsor

  1. I love your Blog stories, always interesting!

    BTW Typo!!!!!!!!
    The man answered: ā€œIā€™m a signing mortician!ā€. The crowd went wild and laughed so hard!

    Should be singing and not signing, I believe.

    If not, what is a signing mortician?

    Take care Gabby!
    Miss you,
    Larry

  2. hahah thanks Larry! I will change that…totally meant singing šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

