Rainy Days

STOP EVERYTHING YOUR ARE DOING BECAUSE…IT’S RAINING!

For some reason, when it rains people forget how to drive, they cancel all plans that involve leaving their home and avoid any contact with the outside world in case the rain might melt their skin off.

Ok, wait. Maybe that’s just people in California.

There has been an unusually large amount of rain falling this week, but that’s no reason to be a Debby Downer! Honestly, there are so many things you can get done on a rainy day, especially a rainy Sunday.

Take me for example. I am finally writing a blog post, hurray! I am sitting at my new favourite coffee shop, Cafe Alibi in Pasadena on a big comfy couch drinking a Rose Petal herbal tea while it’s starting to sprinkle again outside. I have everything I need to spend the rest of the afternoon: my laptop (emails, blog, online shopping) , book (reading: Ultra Marathon Man…incredible), cellphone (in case a celebrity calls me to plan their party) and planner (obviously never leave the house without it).

Since getting back from the incredible Switzerland trip, my life has been all about working hard and playing hard too.

The first week I focused on catching up on sleep. I was so confused the day I got back from Europe that I went to do groceries and spent well over 2 and a half hours in Whole Foods…this is even WITH a list I had made before going (to save time, ha!).

By the 2nd week I was well rested and able to get back into my regular chaotic schedule. The first thing I did, however, was quit my “internship” at the event company. With all my friends quitting and me focussing on sales more than event planning, I just wasn’t getting what I wanted out of it and it was time for me to move on.

Well the moving on happened shortly after when I got a call from a friend asking me if I wanted to interview for a Public Relations job at….DISNEY! It’s a 6 month paid internship with the Disney Stores department. I would be working in Pasadena still in a really cool loft-style building with dozens of more employees.

I had the interview on Friday and they really liked my energy and personality. One of the questions they asked was about my knowledge in social media. Ha! Aren’t I glad I attended some social media conferences at Ottawa U. Anyways, hundreds will apply and one will be selected. Fingers crossed.

It’s a bitter sweet process, because it would require me quitting lululemon. The internship is only 6 months but it is full time. There is possibility of Disney hiring me afterwards if everything works out. Anyways, that is still a few weeks away.

Work aside, I am not being a total hermit these days which is an improvement! I went to see a band play at a friend’s house the other day. I didn’t know this but the band has opened for The Ting-Tings and has played at some big concerts in San Diego. Check ’em out, they are really good. Their band name is now Brite Futures, but they used to be called NPSH (Natalie Portman’s Shaved Head..haha).

Great Band - Brite Futures

It was cool cause they played in our friend’s living room with maybe 30 people there. Everything was going great until the cops showed up. Woopsies! Too loud for a Thursday night?

Oh, back to the theme of ‘Rainy Days’ : LA Marathon! Oh my goodness. I don’t think anyone was prepared for that torrential downpour. Lululemon had an Inspiration Station at mile 22 and we were out in the rain for over 4 hours. I can’t even imagine how the runners must have felt. Apparently the rain caused some mudslides in Woodland hills that day. We saw some crazy runners running barefoot! No joke. I guess it made sense, because those who kept their shoes on (all other 22 994 people) got really bad blisters from their wet socks.

Just a glimpse of how badly it was raining

In other news, the Pasadena lulus have started a Liver Enhancing cleanse. For 3 weeks (I am starting my second week now) we will be loading up on veggies and cutting out carbs, sugar and animal products. It’s tough but I already feel better. I have to admit I cheated a few times (had a hard boiled egg and a bit of skim milk) but I have stuck to it for the most part.

We have this cranberry juice concoction to drink before meals as well and it’s pretty acidic but it feels like it’s clearing out my system. If you want to learn more about this, the cleanse is based off a book called “The 7 Principles of Fat Burning” by Eric Berg. Check it out!

I am still slowly training for my half marathon in May. It’s coming up pretty quickly but I really want to do it!

I think my parking meter is running out now. I should probably move on to my next Rainy Sunday project.

Adios!

Categories: LA Journey, The little things in life | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

