Push Yourself

Happy 80th Birthday Grandpa!!!

(belated, because this post is a few days late)

It’s a beautiful sunny Saturday in Glendale, California. Grandpa said it was nice and sunny in Mars, Pennsylvania as well. How about my Canadian family? Hopefully it’s sunny there too!

I’ve been really good with my running lately and one day after running around the 3 mile/5k Rosebowl track, I decided to do it again the other direction! So at the end I had logged just over 10 km in a little more than an hour. I felt great after and my shins didn’t hurt so I decided to sign up for the Rosebowl 10 k race on Superbowl Sunday!

I know I can run 10k because I did it last May in Ottawa, however, we’re talking about 2 very different courses here. Ottawa was completely flat with the exception of one mini hill over a bridge versus Pasadena, CA that is basically ONLY hills. Great. Not gonna lie, I’m a little worried because as soon as I lose my pace and breathing I get all worked up.

Anyways, I’m going to run it no matter what!

This week has been fairly eventful. I mean working both jobs always keeps me busy and then I try to fit in some sort of exercise each day too. I realized that I was being a bit of a hermit lately. I told some friends from work that we needed to go out or something because I was being very anti-social! But honestly, when you work in customer service you kinda want that alone time after work to decompress. Nothing wrong with being a little anti-social now and then 🙂

This is a hermit crab that likes to hang out in it's shell unless it needs to go somewhere

I also decided that yes, I want to go out with friends, but I also need to learn more about event planning and need to attend more seminars, conferences and conventions that have something to do with event planning. I believe I will be able to attend LA’s Spark and Hustle event run by Tory Johnson next week.

Another one of my upcoming goals is to read more! I will most likely have to schedule time in one of my 400 calendars to read, but hey I can do it. I think I’ll start blogging some short book reviews every now and then.

The book I just finished is called Summer at Tiffany (no “S” at the end) and it’s a memoir of 2 girls that move to Manhattan to find a summer job in the big city. I love the 40s-50s era and biographies and memoirs are always interesting. I’m sending it to my grandma to read, but I do recommend it as a fun and easy read.

A lot of fun events this week though. Tonight is our lululemon Vision party/get together. Tomorrow I drive to San Diego to meet up with my cousin Laura for a day. Saturday morning we have run club and we’re now pairing up with the Pasadena Pacers and Saturday night is my friend Kelly’s birthday! Sunday night we have our End-Of-The-Year lululemon dinner with the whole Pasadena team. I won’t be acting hermit-like those days!

 

Categories: Runner's High, The little things in life | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

