Cut Backs and Coincidences

Completely random but I was listening to the radio this morning on my way to an 8:30 CATZ class and the host was having this contest where you call in if your birthday is in whatever month the host says. Today’s month was April. Right away I thought of my brother Cole. Once people call in, he will give then a day in April and if you are born that day you get something like $10 000! I had this weird feeling that I should call Cole and tell him to call in and see if they would have him on the line, but then decided it that was just silly. Moments later, the host says to the caller ” Were you born on April….10th?!” I couldn’t believe it because that’s exactly Cole’s birthday!!! Of course, the caller wasn’t born on that day but if it had been Cole, we would be one happy family haha.

On another note, as much as I love my morning Starbucks, it is quite the monthly expense! So this morning after finally filling up my car with new coolant (poor Mabel was desperate), I stopped by Starbucks for what could be the last time for a while 😦 . Not to worry, I went in and bought a Coffee Press (bodum) to be able to make my own at home! I still have 3 lbs of coffee from when I used to work there and just got them to grind it for the bodum. Helloooo $$ in my account! Oh and today is payday = yay!

Bodum and freshly ground Starbucks coffee πŸ™‚

Last night I came home from work really late so I wanted to make something quick, easy, not too heavy, but tasty. I came up with my own recipe that I will now call “The Worker’s Crunch”. I just made that up right now so if you have a better suggestion PLEASE let me know!

The Worker's crunch

(makes 2 open-faced Worker’s Crunches”

  • 2 slices of sour dough bread
  • 2-4 slices of smoked deli-style Tofurky (I love this thing it’s hard to believe it’s not meat)
  • Green olive tapenade (also great by itself of crackers, every grocery store has it)
  • Goat cheese with herbs in it
  • 1 medium zucchini and red onion for sides

I layered all of those ingredients and stuck it in the oven at 350F until the goat cheese started to melt. Meanwhile I sliced and sauteed the zucchini and red onion in a little bit of olive oil for flavour. Throw it all on a plate and voila! It was quite filling and a lot of taste to it.

If you do make it, let me know what you think!

Next order of business: My friends from Ottawa are coming at the end of February!!!!! My mom will be here from the 11th to the 18th and on the 19th, 2 of my friends, Mel and P-O, will be flying in to visit πŸ™‚ Busy busy time but sooo excited! Oh and how could I forget, my cousin Laura will be flying to San diego next week and I will drive down to meet her and hang out for a few days. San Diego is only about 2-3 hours by car which is awesome and I have never been so I’m just really pumped for all of this.

Mel, P-O and I back in 2009 whoahhh!

and then there's Laura and I...I guess we don't really look like that anymore!

…I guess this is more recent!

I miss our Tremblant trips!

Other than that, Grandma emailed me a cool recipe that my Grandpa found in the Butler Eagle paper. That is my next project! Maybe I will cook up a storm this weekend. Ginny and I are trying to plan a Universal Studios day because we have yearly passes woot woot!

Have a good Thursday πŸ™‚

Categories: The little things in life, What's Cookin' Good Lookin'? | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Cut Backs and Coincidences

  1. Hey

    Great idea to save some money on Sbux – I know if I didn’t work there I’d do the same thing.

    I’m excited to try your recipe!!!

    Hope LA is swell.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

