Garlic, Salsa and Squash oh my!

Today = leftovers day.

That word doesn’t have to make you cringe anymore though! I kinda get excited now to see what concoction I will come up with each week.

This week’s featured leftovers are:

  • Spaghetti squash that has been sitting, uncooked, on my counter for over 2 weeks
  • Plain tomato sauce
  • Salsa
  • Wilting basil
  • Oldish garlic

Solution? Mix ’em all together and see what happens!

the leftovers!

Browning basil never hurt anyone

Favorite salsa ever! - Thank you Trader Joe's!

I made a simple, yet tasty pasta sauce with garlic, tomato sauce, salsa and basil. I cut the squash in half and baked it in 2 inches of water at 400 F for 40 minutes (got the cooking method from one of my favorite blogs: Oh She Glows). When it was ready, I took the seeds out and scrapped the spaghetti-looking squash into a bowl. This were going quite well until I spilled the boiling water from the squash onto my leg. I survived.

Final step was to pour the sauce on the squash and VOILA! Not only do you have a delicious meal that prevented you from throwing things away, but it is also very low in calories and super healthy!! For one cup of spaghetti squash (42 calories) + 1/2 cup of sauce (50 calories, depending on your tomato sauce base) = less than 100 calories!!! NO JOKE!

 

Categories: What's Cookin' Good Lookin'? | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Garlic, Salsa and Squash oh my!

  1. Spaghetti squash is one of my favorite things to make! I adore it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

