Wake up and smell the smog

Hard to believe we’ve been living in Los Angeles for a week now!   The “Welcome to America” party hosted by Matt J and Matt A was awesome!  They invited a bunch of their friends and we had a pinata, bean bag toss, beer pong ping pong, etc. It was a great opportunity to meet and mingle with real Los Angelans, Los Angeloses, Los Angel…well you get the point.

The next morning we I had to say good bye to Sarah because everyone else was still sleeping. Sad :(. The good news is Elana made it here safely on her cross country drive alone. Monday Elana and I took Goonie out for a spin. It was time to play the tourists.

We left in the morning and went to the Grove Market to meet my cousin Cathy, her husband Jordan and cutest little boy ever mr. Isaac. We all had the most delicious crepes!

The Epsteins had to drive back to San Francisco and Elana and I began our tourist adventure. We took Santa Monica Blvd all the way to Santa Monica Beach. As soon as we got there it was cloudy and cold! Boo! We walked to the Promenade and did some shopping around there (I know what you’re thinking, and NO I didn’t need more stuff but When in Rome…!)

Celebrity sightings so far: none.

We shopped our little hearts out and then started at the beginning of Sunset Blvd and drove through all the cool neighbourhoods! Belair, Beverly Hills and Hollywood.

Celebrity sightings: Still none. Ugh.

And then I had to pee. We we’re right beside Rodeo Drive (!!!!) so I pulled over between a Ferrari and a Porshe and jumped out. Well I guess I should have planned this better because OBVIOUSLY Rodeo Drive wouldn’t dare to have a public restroom. Duh. As I passed Chanel, Cartier, Tiffany’s, D&G…I was wishing I was back on the Highway where I knew there would be rest stops along the way.

Long story short, I found a hidden Starbucks on  a side street. Phew! Other than a coffee, Elana and I did NOT buy anything on Rodeo. One day I will…one day.

Celebrity sightings: ZERO. AUCUN. NADA.

Our last chance to spot a celebrity was on Hollywood Blvd. We parked Goonie and took off towards the Kodak Theatre. And then we saw them…

STARS!

Tom Hanks, Bruce Willis, Cameron Diaz, Michael Jackson…Oh wait, did that give it away? Alright, alright we just saw the Walk of Fame. Still kinda cool though, right? We settled for sushi and then drove back to our home sweet home. Definitely still a terrific day!

Tuesday was our lazy movie-watching day. My new fave place is the Rose Bowl track. Great rollerblading path and running too.

Nevertheless, we’re never bored in LA!

Categories: LA Journey | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

